Completely fallen off the wagon

20110727-121808.jpg

I have now been off the diet and exercise for over a month now. I will now attempt to justify myself by making a bunch of lame excuses:

1. It is WAY too hot to exercise.
2. My personal life is out of control. I feel like I’m driving 100 miles per hour and heading at a cliff.
3. I just don’t have time.
4. I don’t want to eat another salad as long as I live.
5. I’m tired of the same meals every day.
6. I fucking hate chicken.
7. I hate to take walks… I absolutely hate it.
8. I’m a smoker. WTF is the point of working out when I can’t even quit smoking.
9. My back hurts.
10. I really, honest to God, just don’t feel like doing it & nobody can make me.

Ok. Now what do I need to do to get back in the swing of things? I need motivation. I have a vacation with the wife and some great friends coming up. We will be enjoying 11 days on the beach in Mexico. If that isn’t incentive to keep moving, nothing is. But yet it isn’t doing it. I need to address each one of these excuses I have and be able to throw them away, one at a time.

Even going back to Mexico isn't inspiring me.

Excuse #1. It is WAY too hot to exercise. – Bullshit man, you always have the basement. That is where all of your weights are. You have your cardio and strength videos down there. Suck it up and go down one flight of stairs.

Excuse #2. My personal life is out of control. I feel like I’m driving 100 miles per hour and heading at a cliff. – Is there a better possible distraction from this chaos than exercise? Seriously, how much do you worry about being a good dad when you are straining to push out 5 more reps?

Excuse #3. I just don’t have time. – Who does? You have to make time. What is more important? Living for a few extra years, or playing a few extra games of Call of Duty? This is the lamest excuse of them all really.

Excuse #4. I don’t want to eat another salad as long as I live. – Then you are eating the wrong types of salad buddy. Get at least 4 or 5 servings of veggies in your diet or you will never break the 180 pound mark. Your colon will thank you too. You need mix it up a bit. Maybe a Santa Fe salad on Monday, a chef salad on Wednesday, and a simple garden salad on Friday. Or cut out some of the salads and eat a ton of veggie sides with your meals. Don’t limit yourself.

Excuse #5. I’m tired of the same meals every day. – There is only one person to blame for this one man. Your mama isn’t going to come over and make your meals for you. Get off your ass and take five minutes to pack a lunch.

Excuse #6. I fucking hate chicken. – Either dress it up, or find an alternative. Don’t stress about having chicken again unless you can offer up an alternative that is acceptable.

Excuse #7. I hate to take walks… I absolutely hate it. – But you do like to run. Get yourself a pair of running shoes. Throw the cross trainers in the closet. Get something that is comfortable and wont kill your knees. You need to get outside more. Don’t solely rely on the elliptical or cardio in the basement. It’s not the same. You need the fresh air. Set down the laptop and the hot pockets and do something.

Excuse #8. I’m a smoker. WTF is the point of working out when I can’t even quit smoking. – Quit smoking. That is all. You are stupid if you don’t. Make it a goal that you will quit this year. Do not put it off any longer.

Excuse #9. My back hurts. – The only thing that will cure that for good is to strengthen your core. Quit whining and just do it.

10. I really, honest to God, just don’t feel like doing it & nobody can make me. – You are right. But if you do what you have always done, you will get what you have always got… fat and lazy.

There, that is all off my chest. I have no more excuses. So where do I go from here?

I am going to change my workout routine. An hour and a half per night was too much. I think I was focusing on the wrong things. I wasn’t focused on a single goal, losing weight. Instead I was trying to lose weight, build muscle, improve overall fitness, and try to look like the people on the P90X videos. That is too much. I am quitting the traditional P90X program just 3 weeks short of finishing. My new goal is to get weight training in 2-3 times per week and cardio 3-4 times per week. Less focus on weights, more on cardio will make ProEJockey a thinner boy. I will still use the P90X videos and routines, but I will tailor the program to better fit my schedule and focus on my single goal. Lose weight.

I am also going to start running. I am signing up for a local 5k race this weekend. My goal is to finish it in 25 minutes or less. This will be a test run. I have another “fun” race in August. I will be doing the Warrior Dash in Indiana with my kids. It is also a 5k race, except in the mud and over/under obstacles and stuff. If I cant finish a 5k on the road, I sure as hell better rethink that August race.

Lastly, I need to quit smoking. That more than anything is going to benefit me in the end. I am setting a goal for myself to quit immediately following Mexico. I know that is procrastinating again, but I need to take baby steps. Diet and exercise, then smoking, and then maybe I can tackle other obstacles in my life like not working enough on the house or being outside more.

Wish me luck. Vaya con Dios a mis amigos.

About ProEJockey

A 40-something father with an opinion on everything.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

